How many incumbent presidents have lost re-election? Trump wouldn’t be first

Natalie Musumeci

With Joe Biden on the cusp of winning the 2020 presidential election, Donald Trump would not be the first incumbent to lose re-election.

But Trump would be the first sitting president to fail to win re-election in nearly three decades should Biden, his Democratic challenger, be declared the victor.

The last time an incumbent president did not succeed in winning a second four-year term was when George H.W. Bush was defeated by Democrat Bill Clinton in 1992.

In addition to Bush, three other incumbent presidents have lost re-election in the last 100 years.

Democrat Jimmy Carter, the 39th president of the US, who served from 1977 to 1981, was defeated by Ronald Reagan in the 1980 election.

The country’s 38th president, Republican Gerald Ford, lost to Carter in 1976.

Herbert Hoover, the nation’s 31st president, served between 1929 and 1933 and was defeated by Democrat Franklin Roosevelt in the 1932 election.

Roosevelt went on to serve three full terms, dying in office in 1945 in his fourth term, and remains the only president to have served more than two terms.

The United States’ 27th president, William Taft, served from 1909 to 1913 and lost his re-election campaign to Democrat Woodrow Wilson.

Other incumbent chief executives to lose re-election include Benjamin Harrison, the 23rd president; Martin Van Buren, the eighth president; John Quincy Adams, the sixth president; and his father, John Adams, the country’s second president.

New York Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *