A new executive council of the Students Union Government (SUG) of the Akwa Ibom State University has been sworn in with Comrade Ernest Godwin Udo as President.
The inauguration which took place at the Ikot Akpaden Campus of the state government owned institution was witnessed by principal officers led by the Vice Chancellor, Professor Eno James Ibanga, lecturers, delegates from the National Association of Nigerian Students, and students.

Addressing the students prior to the inauguration, the VC, Prof. Eno James Ibanga, who had earlier visited the Obio Akpa Campus to brief students, explained that the institution having conducted a Students’ Union Election and By-election on October 20, 2017, and November 10, 2017, respectively, fixed a swearing-in ceremony on the second week of January 2018. He divulged that the event was however cancelled following reports of gross misconduct by the President-elect, Aniekpeno Francis Solomon.

“Aniekpeno Francis Solomon started parading himself as the SUG President and also attended meetings in that capacity even when he was yet to be sworn-in. A case was reported to the Students’ Affairs Division of how he was asked to leave a meeting venue since the incumbent president’s tenure had not been exhausted. The Dean of Students Affairs in November 2017 invited Aniekpeno and other newly elected executive members for a meeting where he was advised not to attend any meeting in his capacity as the Students’ President until his swearing in”, the VC explained.

He added that the said Aniekpeno defied advise and continued impersonating the then incumbent President, Comrade Ikobong Ekette at various fora including the South South Convention of the National Association of Nigerian Students (NANS) held in Bayelsa State, where he forged a “Students Union Identity Card with inscription 001 Students’ Union President, Akwa Ibom State University signed by the former Registrar.”

Prof Ibanga revealed that the Senate of his institution had to intervene by setting up a committee which observed that Aniekpeno’s actions constituted Gross Misconduct in line with the provision of the Student Information Hnadbook Sub. 10.7 (V), adding that the Senate at a meeting held on Wednesday, January 31, 2018, “decided that Aniekpeno should not be sworn in as the President of the Student Union rather, the candidate who polled the second largest vote should be sworn in as President.”

He congratulated members of the new executive and urged them to play their role effectively as ambassadors of the institution. “You owe this institution a debt of service. Nothing can be more challenging than being called by your mates and peers to lead them, to protect their interest at all times.”

While urging the new leaders to serve as a linkage between the university administration and the other students who elected them into office, he promised that his administration would continue being sensitive to students’ welfare.

In his valedictory speech, the outgoing President, Comrade Ikobong Ekette commended the university management for the support and enjoined the incoming executive council to consolidate on the antecedents of his tenure.

The SUG President, Comrade Ernest Godwin Udo, in his acceptance speech, poured encomiums on VC Prof Eno Ibanga “for upholding the integrity of Students’ Union”, “the electoral committee for organizing a transparent and hitch-free election”, and assured the university management that his “executives are going to lead based on equity, justice and very high moral ground in all our dealings with the administration.”

“We also wish to assure the students that we have an administration that is student-friendly, and we urge the students to show great maturity and willingness to work and collaborate with the administration in order to make students life on campus better than it is today”, he promised.

Highpoint of the ceremony was the swearing-in ceremony of executive members of the SUG and the Parliamentarians by Barr. Ime Udofa.
The sworn in members of the SUG are: Ernest Godwin Udo, President; Kingsley Chinonso Anagu, Vice President; Uduakobong Martins Udofia, Secretary; Emediong Akanimo Aduquo, Assistant Secretary; Daniel Edo Tobby, Financial Secretary; Grace Okon Abia, Treasurer; and Elijah Sunday Elijah, Director of Welfare.

Others are: Eti-inyene Sunday Tom, Director of Sports; Benson Stephen Benson, Director of Socials; Mkpoikana Nkwe Oliver, Director of Information; and Paul Essien Eti-ufan, Director of Transport.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *